Young Biophysicist Award

In 1995, the Society instituted an award for young investigators: the Young Biophysicist Award (YBA). Its purpose is to encourage members of the Society who were about to or had recently embarked on a career in biophysics, but there are no age restrictions. The award carries a cash prize of $500.

The conditions of the award are that applicants:

  1. should be a Ph.D. candidate, or be within 5 years following the award of a Ph.D. or equivalent degree;
  2. be members of the Society of at least 12 months standing at the time of application;
  3. make an oral presentation at the annual conference of the Society (finalists only);
  4. submit one ELECTRONIC copy of the application (either in pdf or MS Word) and send it to the ASB Secretary.
  5. Let the local conference organiser know that you are applying for a YBA when you submit your abstract.
  6. The above application should be sent by the time abstracts are due for the annual conference. The application should include a curriculum vitae, together with a full publication list.
The Society reserves the right to not make an award in any one year.

2012 Recipient: Tamsyn Hilder
Tamsyn presented a talk entitled: "Characterizing various inward rectifier potassium channels"

2010 Recipient: David Szekely
David presented a talk entitled: "Toward the virtual heart: graphics processor accelerated interactive simulations of cardiac function"

2009 Recipient: Megan O'Mara
Megan presented a talk entitled: "Linking bacterial structures to human multi-drug transporter function"

2008 Recipient: Dr Till Böcking
Till presented a talk entitled: "Chasing the Mechanism of Clatherin Coat Disassembly by Single Object Fluorescence Imaging" at the 32nd Annual Conference of the Society held in Canberra.

2007 Recipient: Dr John Gehman
John presented a talk entitled: "Boltzmann-statistics analysis of solid state NMR experiments" at the 31st Annual Conference of the Society held in Newcastle.

2006 Recipient: Dr Catherine Clarke
Catherine presented a talk entitled: "A helically structured M1-P1 loop "fine tunes" the pH sensitivity of acid sensitive two-pore domain potassium (TASK) channels" at the 30th Annual Conference of the Society held in Sydney.

2005 Recipient: Dr Ben Corry
Ben presented a talk entitled: "The mechanism of fast gating in ClC chloride channels" at the 29th Annual Conference of the Society held in Canberra.

2004 Recipient: Dr Matthew Perugini
Matt presented a talk entitled: "Hexameric structure of GDP-mannose pyrophosphorylase: a key enzyme and novel drug target in Leishmania" at the 28th Annual Conference of the Society held in Fremantle.

2002 Recipient: Louise Brown
Louise presented a talk "Structure of the Inhibitory Region of Troponin I in the ternary complex by Site-Directed Spin Labeling EPR Spectroscopy" at the 26th Annual Conference of the Society held in Melbourne.

About the ASB | 2014 International Biophysics Congress |Meetings | Young Biophysicist Award
Jobs | Links to Other Biophysics Sites | Home

If you have any comments or suggestions about the web page please email

Last updated on 8 April 2013