The 37th Annual Conference of the Australian Society for Biophysics

The Meeting took place from Sunday 24 to Wednesday 27 November at the RMIT City campus, in the heart of Melbourne. Meeting Poster

Program Outline

Keynote speakers

  • Atul Parikh - UC Davis
  • Bonnie Ann Wallace - Birkbeck College, University of London
  • Gordon Wallace - University of Wollongong
  • Sergei Noskov - University of Calgary

Invited speakers

  • Ashley Buckle - Monash University
  • Renwick Dobson - University of Canterbury,
  • James Friend - RMIT University
  • Christopher Garvey - Bragg Institute, ANSTO
  • Michelle Gee - University of Melbourne
  • Paul Gooley - Bio21, University of Melbourne
  • Michael James - Director of Science, Australian Synchrotron
  • Boris Martinac - Victor Chang Research Institute, Sydney
  • Sheena McGowan - Monash University

Plus Student and Young Biophysicist Awards !

Program Outline

Research themes included:

  • New Scattering & Imaging Techniques in Biophysics
  • Biomolecular Interactions
  • Computational Biophysics
  • Ion Channels, Membrane Transport & Muscle Biophysics
  • Membrane Proteins
  • Protein Structure & Dynamics
  • Membrane Biophysics
  • Mechanobiology
  • Nanobiomaterials & Bio-Engineering
  • Plant Biophysics
  • General Biophysics

The local organising committee was

Gold Sponsor:
RMIT Health Innovations Research Institute

Silver Sponsors:


RMIT Applied Sciences
School of Applied Sciences

Centre for Molecular and Nanoscale Physics Bruker

Bronze Sponsors:

vlsci Life Sciences Computation ARC Centre of Excellence for Coherent X-ray Science Australian Synchrotron