New book on pumps, channels and transporters

>>> Posted by Admin - 02/11/2015

This new book , edited by ASB-member Ronald Clarke will surely be of interest to many. The book contains an extensive overview and detailed description of methods for the study of pumps, channels and transporters. Many of the chapters were written by ASB members including Philip Kuchel (on NMR), Peter Barry, Andrew Moorhouse and Trevor Lewis (on patch-clamp), Louise Brown (on EPR) and Ben Corry (on MD simulations). The book is published by Wiley and available at online book stores.

Save the date. The ASB Meeting is turning 40!

>>> Posted by Admin - 09/05/2015

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the Australian Society for Biophysics. The first ASB conference was held in Armidale and the annual ASB meeting is now among the largest gathering of Biophysicists in Australia and New Zealand. To mark this special occasion the 2015 ASB meeting will be held at the University of New England in Armidale from November 22 – 25.
You can download the flyer for the conference here .

ASB awards 2015 - Nominations now open!

>>> Posted by Admin - 02/04/2015

Nominations are now open for the Bob Robertson and McAulay-Hope Awards for 2015. The McAulay-Hope Award recognises true originality and innovation in the field of biophysics. The Bob Robertson Award recognises outstanding contribution to the field of biophysics in Australia and New Zealand. For detailed instructions on the awards and the conditions of each please follow this link. Nominations and Applications should be sent to the ASB Secretary, Dr. Andrew Battle (, no later than the 1st June 2015.